Breaking News

Suominen's Kopola Receives Women's Board Award

March 20, 2017

The Women’s Board Award is a recognition for a female corporate leader and board professional.

The Women’s Board Award was given to Nina Kopola, president and CEO of Suominen, on Friday, March 17. In addition to her role at Suominen, Kopola is a supervisory board member of Ilmarinen Mutual Pension lnsurance and board member of Metso Corporation. Previously, she has also been a member of the Board of Konecranes Corporation.

“Nina Kopola has a solid experience as the CEO in a large global company, which makes her competent to understand the challenges CEOs face and to coach them. Moreover, her international experience was emphasized as it is more and more important in the board room. Thanks to her background in technology, she easily understands manufacturing and processes,” the jury stated.

“I’m humbly thankful for the Award which I very much appreciate. I consider the Women’s Board Award very important, since there really is not any good reasons why we do not have more women as CEOs, Board members or Chairs. I even see this as awkward and simply wrong. Therefore this initiative is really worthwhile, as it brings the attention to this matter,” says Kopola.

The Women’s Board Award was established in Norway in 2010 to complement the Chair of the Year Award. Since then, the annual Awards have been given also in Sweden, Denmark and Finland.

The Women’s Board Award is a recognition for a female corporate leader and Board professional, who has potential to act as a Chair of a Board in a larger company. The Award can be given to a women who has significant experience as a CEO or Board member in a company where the annual net sales exceeds €100 million. The purpose of the award is to support the development of Board work and extend the competencies in the Boards by highlighting potential, female candidates for Board Chairs.

In addition to Kopola, nominees for the Women’s Board Award were Catharina Stackelberg-Hammarén, founder and Group CEO of Marketing Clinic and Jaana Tuominen, CEO of Paulig Oy. The members of the jury were Esko Aho (Chair), Maija-Liisa Friman, Aaro Cantell, Timo Ritakallio, Hille Korhonen and Gunnar Eckbo.

Related Other: