Breaking News

Visionary Award Competition Kicks Off

May 19, 2005

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2006 Visionary Award, which in its five years of existence has become one of the most prestigious awards in the nonwoven and consumer products industries. The award, presented by INDA, annually recognizes consumer end products that use nonwoven fabrics or employ nonwovens technology during their manufacturing processes.

The 2006 Visionary Award will be presented at the Vision 2006 Consumer Products Conference, scheduled for January 15-18, 2006, at the Sheraton New Orleans in New Orleans.

INDA will accept nominations for the 2006 Visionary Award until September 1. The nominees will then reviewed by an INDA selection committee, and five finalists will be selected to make presentations at Vision 2006. Conference attendees will then vote on the recipient of the award.

Last January at the Vision 2005 Conference in New Orleans, BBA Fiberweb was presented with the Visionary Award for its Resolution Print Media product. The BBA product was selected by Vision attendees over five other finalists from such well-known consumer products companies as Gillette, Tyco Healthcare and Kimberly-Clark.

Other previous winners include Brillo Scrub 'n' Toss (2004), FMJ ChemBio for its Civilian Quick Escape Mask (2003) and Procter & Gamble's Swiffer cleaning system in 2002.

To be considered for a Visionary Award, products must contain a nonwoven for use a nonwoven technology during manufacturing, been introduced in 2004 or 2005 and have not been considered in any previous Visionary Award competition.

Products will be judged on their novel use of nonwovens technology, as well as on their consumer and trade acceptance. Eligible consumer product categories include disposable diapers, feminine hygiene product, adult incontinence products, household wipes and home filters, among others.

Companies can nominate their own products. While any number of products can be nominated, only one product per company will be selected as a finalist.

More information: Michael Jacobsen, Visionary Awards coordinator;; 201-612-6601.